Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

No story starts at the beginning. They start at a point, a point at which life alters, shifts, a point at which all the previous story’s leading to this point collide. This is something I’ve learnt along this little journey of story-writing as I seem to be travelling further back in order to start moving forward. I started with my main character but in order to write her, to understand her, I have had to travel back and understand her parents, their friends, workers, enemies, all the little intricate things that may have happened to bring her to this point in her life.

Peeling back layers, that’s what I’m doing. Voyaging through her history in order to write about her moving forward. Is that ironic? I’m not sure I know anymore. With each layer revealed, another lays underneath. Some days I feel I’m doing nothing but digging a large virtual hole!

